Well….there ya go….

broken egg yokl, egg white, albumen, uovo rotto
Image via Wikipedia

VideoEgg Will Acquire Six Apart And Rename Itself SAY Media.

Say say say
What you want
But don’t play games
With my affection
Take take take
What you need
But don’t leave me
With no direction

(not that I posted much in the past year….but I never pass up a chance to be offended, slighted and/or wronged)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Well….there ya go….

  1. Cimmorene says:

    Hmmnh. It just figures. It really just figures.

  2. crankypants says:

    I don’t even know what to make of it. I wonder what will happen with TypePad and all the EXCITING things the 6A people were saying they were doing with it.

    They should have named it SAVE…SixApartVideoEgg, and they will probably need saving. Video Egg? what kind of company calls itself Video Egg anyway? I don’t know, I just watched Pink Flamingos the other night and am a little creeped out by eggs right now anyway. I also wonder if the former Vox employees knew about all this or if they are freaking out.

  3. One of the articles I had read before when this was a rumour wondered what would happen when this turned out to be true since some 6A bigwig was basically swearing the merger wasn’t happening (ie what would happen to his reputation, etc).

    • mariser says:

      since some 6A bigwig was basically swearing the merger wasn’t happening

      said 6A bigwig is Chris Alden, the soon-to-be-former-CEO of 6A. he’s leaving the company, natch.

  4. silverchimes says:

    The way 6A handled the closing of Vox didn’t do them any favors, in my opinion.

    I’m usually an easy going kind of person, but I really didn’t feel like moving on to another blog owned by the same company after 6A basically ignored Vox for a couple of years and then gave as 30 days to move our stuff out. I was quite glad that most of the neighborhood moved to WP.

  5. CreakyGeek says:

    Likewise. I’m glad to still be in touch with my friends. And also likewise, I wasn’t terribly impressed with how 6A handled the Vox shutdown. It was why I did not go to TypePad — how do I know that’s not next up for grabs?

    OK, business ventures shut down. I know that. It happens. Especially ones that don’t charge for their services. But if you’re about to pull the plug, have a little more style than the, “Oh, man, did we forget to mention? Yeah, we’re turning off the lights in few days” model 6A used for Vox. Maybe it was part of the sale that VideoEgg would take possession on October 1 or something, but a little less of a brush-off and a little more explanation (and a little more time) would’ve been nice.

  6. natalie says:

    Hey there, TypePad Product Manager here on behalf of Six Apart. Yes, we know that the VOX shutdown was abrupt, but we really do want the blogging to live on! That’s why we offered a few options along with an easy path for migration, and I’m incredibly pleased to see that your community is thriving on WordPress, Dave.

    TypePad will continue to grow, and we’ve got a lot of exciting plans up our sleeve for our platforms. We certainly are heading in a different direction than the pure blogging-software company that we have been, but it’s been because of listening to bloggers’ wants and needs to be successful at blogging, whether that’s through greater distribution of their content, or through more opportunities to be paid to do what they love. Working as a new company with the VideoEgg team will bring benefits to bloggers of all platforms.

    I’ve been at Six Apart a long time, and I’ve worked with a lot of bloggers and publishing houses using our software. We’ve considered our motto to be “We help bloggers succeed”, and, now more than ever, we’re aiming to fulfill that.

  7. Boston Margy says:

    Heard about that. Someone out in blogland is wondering if TypePad will be the next to go.

Leave a Reply

